top of page

How to Help the TBDC

There are many ways to help our cause. Please see the options below to learn more. 
Contact Congress

How to Help as a Downwinder


We have multiple events that we host on an annual basis. Fill out the form below to let us know of your interests and capabilities and we'll be in touch. 

Volunteer with Us

Which days are you available?

Thanks for applying to volunteer with us! We'll get back to you soon.

Donate to the Cause

The Tularosa Basin Downwinders Consortium needs your financial assistance to continue the important work that we have started. 

Please send checks directly to: 
TBDC c/o Tina Cordova
7518 2nd St. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107


Contact Congress

Contact your congressional members and ask them to support our bills! Read and fill out the form below to find your members of Congress and Take Action!

To find your House of Representative Members, click here. You may search by state or member name, or you can enter your zip code into the box on the top right of the page. To find your members of the Senate, click here. Select your state to get started.
For New Mexico:

Senator Ben Ray Lujan: (202)224-6621
Address: 498 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Martin Heinrich: (202)224-5521
303 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510

Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez: (202)225-6190
1432 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20510

Rep. Melanie Stansbury: (202)225-6316
1421 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20510

Rep. Gabe Vasquez: (202)225-2365
1305 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20510

Remember to tell them you support the Tularosa Basin Downwinders Consortium and our efforts to amend the Radiation Exposure
Compensation Act.
Tell them about what has happened to you and/or
your family since the overexposure to radiation received from the Trinity test and
what it has meant to be ignored for the past 76 years.
PLEASE FORWARD THIS INFORMATION with your family and friends from
throughout New Mexico and other parts of the country.
We need everyone from every state to contact their members of Congress. The
original RECA bill will end in 2022 so we only have a year left to get this done.
Go to our website for more information:
Locate members of Congress from other states:

Contact Gov. Lujan Grisham and let her know you support our efforts
Address: 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Room 400 Santa Fe, NM 87501

H.R.4426 Radiation Exposure Compensation Act Amendments of 2023
The amendment bill currently has 34 co-sponsors:
Co-sponsor                                                                                     Date Cosponsored
Del. Moylan, James C. [R-GU-At Large]                                                     06/30/2023
Rep. Barragan, Nanette Diaz [D-CA-44]                                                    06/30/2023
Rep. Blunt Rochester, Lisa [D-DE-At Large]                                               06/30/2023
Rep. Carson, Andre [D-IN-7]                                                                      06/30/2023
Rep. Chu, Judy [D-CA-28]                                                                          06/30/2023
Rep. Garamendi, John [D-CA-8]                                                                 06/30/2023
Rep. Grijalva, Raúl M. [D-AZ-7]                                                                  06/30/2023
Rep. Johnson, Henry C. "Hank," Jr. [D-GA-4]                                            06/30/2023
Rep. Kilmer, Derek [D-WA-6]                                                                     06/30/2023
Rep. Lee, Barbara [D-CA-12]                                                                     06/30/2023
Rep. Lofgren, Zoe [D-CA-18]                                                                     06/30/2023
Rep. McBath, Lucy [D-GA-7]                                                                      06/30/2023
Rep. Omar, Ilhan [D-MN-5]                                                                        06/30/2023
Rep. Pettersen, Brittany [D-CO-7]                                                             06/30/2023
Rep. Ross, Deborah K. [D-NC-2]                                                                06/30/2023
Rep. Scanlon, Mary Gay [D-PA-5]                                                              06/30/2023
Rep. Smith, Adam [D-WA-9]                                                                      06/30/2023
Rep. Stansbury, Melanie Ann [D-NM-1]                                                     06/30/2023
Rep. Stanton, Greg [D-AZ-4]                                                                     06/30/2023
Rep. Takano, Mark [D-CA-39]                                                                    06/30/2023
Rep. Titus, Dina [D-NV-1]                                                                          06/30/2023
Rep. Tlaib, Rashida [D-MI-12]                                                                    06/30/2023
Rep. Tonko, Paul [D-NY-20]                                                                       06/30/2023
Rep. Weber, Randy K., Sr. [R-TX-14]                                                         06/30/2023
Rep. Williams, Nikema [D-GA-5]                                                               06/30/2023
Rep. Vasquez, Gabe [D-NM-2]                                                                  06/30/2023
Rep. Fulcher, Russ [R-ID-1]                                                                        06/30/2023
Rep. Lieu, Ted [D-CA-36]                                                                           07/13/2023
Rep. Matsui, Doris O. [D-CA-7]                                                                 07/13/2023
Rep. Jayapal, Pramila [D-WA-7]                                                                07/13/2023
Rep. Gooden, Lance [R-TX-5]                                                                    08/01/2023
Rep. Meng, Grace [D-NY-6]                                                                       08/01/2023
Rep. Blumenauer, Earl [D-OR-3]                                                                08/22/2023
Rep. Cohen, Steve [D-TN-9]                                                                      08/22/2023

Rep. Gallego, Ruben [D-AZ-3]                                                                   09/14/2023

How to Help as a Downwinder

As a downwinder, you can help by Donating, Contacting Congress, and Volunteering. However, you can also help the cause by filling out a Health Survey and telling your story. You can attach your story to your health survey when you send it to us, whether by mail or email. 

Click HERE to download the Health Survey. You can mail or email the completed form(s) to the address or email address below. 
C/O Tina Cordova
7518 2nd St. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107


bottom of page